WIP Wednesday 1/14/15

I’m linking up with Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday and as usual I have a ton of things that I am working on!!! 2015 is the year that I am planning to USE my stash as much as possible, source my scraps etc AND finish UFO’s, PhD’s and NYS’s, so expect to see many projects that involve scraps or weird fabrics lol!

1. Hearts Table Runner

DSCF8927

This is a pattern I wrote for Bernina Club this month as I was demonstrating the new #97 foot (Which is FANTASTIC!). I taught two methods of making HST’s and gave out copies of my pattern. My plan is to make 9 placemats and a table runner (and have them completed by Feb club eek….)

So far I have one block completed and the others in various stages of progress!

2. Bright Stars QAL

DSCF8926DSCF8925 - Version 2

I have all my 4 patches sewn together, all my bright squares cut, I am working on cutting background squares and the triangles now for the “star” pieces.

3. Hip to be Square challenge
DSCF8924

These are my scraps, I try to cut them as I finish project(s) but they often pile up on me! When I get a chance to cut them I have a variety of strips, squares, bricks, triangles or sledges based loosely on Bonnies system that can be found here.

DSCF8919 - Version 2DSCF8921 - Version 2

I think it looks so pretty sorted by color don’t you? I have 4 blocks completed, its very time consuming as I am using 1 inch finished squares. I have a variety on colors not just green and blue, but now I see these on the design wall I am going to make this into a quilt for J hopefully for his bed as he wants to decorate his room in a “Minecraft” theme.

4. Half Hearted Quilt

DSCF8922 - Version 2

This is a lap quilt that I am working on from a block that I created in Quilt Pro 5. Some friends and I got together to cut fabric and sew these last Friday but my cutting went slowly… I am still working on cutting it all out but once I get sewing it should go fast right (?) 🙂 It will be really fun to see how our 4 quilts all turn out since we all use different fabrics and are working in different sizes.

5. Mystery Mondays

DSCF8923

I need to have 4 main fabrics and 4 accent fabrics, the white/blue/red at the top will be the background but I need to add one more main and one more accent – I am thinking maybe a mustard color or something? Not loving these colors BUT I pulled them from my stash, AND this mystery doesn’t really give any direction in terms of color/value choices such as how much contrast is needed etc….. I will get cutting these out before Monday so I am ready to go next week.

6. Pat Sloan Vacation Time BOM

DSCF8918

So… more fabric pulled from my stash!!!! Not sure WHAT direction I am going in here at all lol! All I do know is that I will use the “keep calm” fabric as a focal piece in each block, and maybe the blue/purple as a background in each block with an accent color…… we shall see as time goes on 🙂

7. NYD Mystery Quilt 

IMG_8552IMG_8551

My Quilt top(s) are done! Backing is pieced and its all waiting to get on the longer frame  to be quilted. I split my blocks into two quilts instead of one big one. I can’t decide if I LOVE these or HATE them lol! Fabric was all pulled from my stash once again, and before I filed the scraps into my approriate scrap bins, I sewed the binding for each together ready for once they are quilted.

Thanks for looking!

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday 1/14/15

Leave a comment