WIP Wednesday 9-16-15

I am FINALLY getting back to sewing ūüôā New Koala Cabinets mean that I can sew away and when the kids wake up its like I wasn’t even sewing lol! I also am organizing the garage and my longarm/quilting supplies and fabric stash and so plan to be WAY more organized that I have been!

So: Onto WIP WEDNESDAY

  • NEW PROJECTS: 1
  • WIP’s: 3
  • UFO’s: 5
  • FLIMSIES: 1
  • FINISHES: 1

New Projects:

IMG_1681Baby J’s Quilt – Baby J turned ONE this past weekend! and when you are #5 you get to celebrate this milestone by driving 2 hours leaving before the sun comes up to cheer your siblings on in their first robot competition! Sadly though, we arrived to find it had been postponed and no one told us ūüė¶

So…. we went for breakfast at at super nice place called the Mangy Moose in Manteca CA.¬†They were so nice to us and the food was great… we will definitely go back! What also is in Manteca? Ladybug Quilts of course!¬†¬†And since it was baby J’s birthday I just had to get him some fabric! These turtles were so adorable, I paired them with two tones of great and a little black and gold dotted fabric.

WIPS:

IMG_1680Frivols Club #1 – I am having so much fun working on this quilt. It actually is sewing up pretty fast and I already have Frivolous Club #2 here so I need to get moving on this one! I generally hate “kits” and things where I am making something the same as everyone else but these tins were too cute not to sign up for! I did not sign up for the finishing kits and so am adding fabric from my stash to make it “mine” when I can.

IMG_8646

New YearsDay Mystery Quilts (One straight, one on point) РThese are finally on the frame and being quilted! I had some brown fabric yardage that was just the perfect size to use as backing for both. 


UFO’s:

I have UFO’s galore but in an attempt to get my sewing brain organized in order to actually finish some of the UFO’s I am doing things slightly differently now: When a project is finished I will bag
up any bonus HST’s, strip sets left etc that I don’t want to just throw into my scrap system and when a need arises such as a birthday gift or inspiration strikes I will use this to make something new.

Usually I don’t like to go straight into making something with my “leftovers” since by the end of a project I usually don’t want to see the same fabrics
again! But its a shame to split up fabrics that have been pul
led to go together or strips that have been sewn and after they have been left to “sit” for a while I’m ready to make something with it!

I also have some “traditional” UFO’s but they won’t be noted here until I have sorted them and have them in the “somewhere near ready to be worked on” pile ūüôā

FullSizeRenderPink/Purple Bonu HST’s

Pink/white/red¬†leftovers¬†from A’s quilt

Peach/brown leftovers from a friends quilt
Pink/gold leftovers from a recentIMG_1699 project

IMG_1700Blue/orange/green leftovers from J’s quilt

FLIMSIES:

IMG_1584J’s Quilt – this is a quilt I purchased fabrics for during the last shop hop, He requested blue, green and orange and picked the first two pieces of fabric
which set the tone for the rest of the shop hop. I tried to pick fabrics that reflect his personality so there are fruits, bicycles and many other things in the quilt. It will be a quilt for his bed. Here it is on the design wall befor
e I sewed it together, I have since added a piano key border and now just have to prepare (find in the garage!) the backing and then it can go on the frame next.

IMG_1585

FINISHES:

I made this table runner from teeny tiny bonus HST’s that were left from a quilt I made for a friend back in 2012 (yes its been “simmering” that long lol!) I love how it came out. It finished at approximately¬†14 x 24 inches.¬†IMG_1580IMG_1578

One thought on “WIP Wednesday 9-16-15

Leave a Reply

