Friday 1-23-15

Linking up to TGIFF….

DSCF8950 - Version 2

This is my Project Quilting Season 6 Challenge 2 Entry: “Sunrise/Sunset”. It is a set of 8 quilted coasters with a paper pieced sunburst with appliqué quarter sun sewn from my scraps. The green border/backing is a velour that I had in my stash. The finished at around 5 ½ inches square and just what we needed to brighten up our house this spring. The sunbursts are quilted in straight lines along each burst with decorative stitching around the circular part. They were then backed with the same green fabric and finished with the envelope method where I stitched around the sunburst square to create a nice border; one of these are showing the back in the picture above.

DSCF8947 - Version 2

This is my aurifil mini for January all completed. I tried out a new binding method that I found here. I thought it was easy but I had to fenangle it a little and will be tweaking it for future projects until I am fully happy with it as a binding method. It has a hanging sleeve and I quilted swirls in the white and left the red to “pop”. The red border has one of my favorite bible verses quilted around it:

James 1:2-3New International Version (NIV)

Trials and Temptations

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.. 

This will be a surprise gift for a dear friend…..

Thanks for looking 🙂

4 thoughts on “Friday 1-23-15

Leave a Reply

